CIMMcon Closing Night Event: Kevin Coval and A People’s History of Chicago

CIMMcon Performance
PANELISTS: Kevin Coval, E?mon Lauren, Freesole

WHERE: Gideon Welles - 4500 North Lincoln Avenue
Sunday, November 12 @ 4:00 PM
Tickets: FREE - CIMMfest Pass Holders have priority seating, however all CIMMcon events are free and open to the public! Remaining seating will be on a first-come-first-serve basis.
BUY FEST PASSES!

Come see Kevin Coval perform live readings from his book with special guests E'mon Lauren and FreeSole!

SYNOPSIS:
A People’s History of Chicago flips to the b-side of history in the tradition of Howard Zinn, Ida B. Wells, and other narrators who counter american terror and mainstream whitewashing. In this time especially, we need to look back at the progressive legacies we inherit and the radical stream we swim in, and be emboldened to create and fight for a city/country that is more just, equitable, and fresher for all.”  Come see Kevin Coval perform works from his book LIVE! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YWV2UFDK9Ow

E’mon Lauren uses poetry and playwriting to explore a philosophy of hood womanism. She was named Chicago’s first Youth Poet Laureate and has performed in many venues including The Brave New Voices International Youth Poetry Festival and The Chicago Hip Hop Theatre Fest. She was a 2016 finalist for The Gwendolyn Brooks Open Mic Award. E’mon has been published in The BreakBeat Poets: New American Poetry in the Age of Hip-Hop, The Down Dirty Word, and elsewhere. She has been featured in Chicago Magazine, The Chicago Tribune, and on WGN Radio. She is a member of Young Chicago Authors Teaching Artist Corps.

Freesole is an artistic collective based in Chicago, IL. We aim for people to come together to enjoy our music and other works of art. Make Waves #SoleSZN.  Freesole is a music group of young musicians from Chicago with homegrown singers, rappers, and producers. All of the artists have very unique feel while keeping a common thread throughout the diverse roster that makes up the Freesole sound: Joshua Woodley, Lee Junios, Kendrick Harmon, Al Collier, Janelle Butler, Jason Whitted, Sakyrah Morris and Jayson Doss. Come see them perform LIVE!

VENUE MAP